Information

Officially launched in March 2005, the Prix Ronald-Duhamel – Ronald Duhamel Award was created to recognize an employee or a group of employees of a governmental or quasi-governmental body at the federal, provincial or municipal level for distinguished service to Manitoba’s Francophone community. This biennial Award is a joint initiative of the Société franco-manitobaine, the Federal Government, the Manitoba Francophone Affairs Secretariat, and the Manitoba Association of Bilingual Municipalities (AMBM).

The award has been named in honour of Ronald Duhamel and his significant contributions, first as a senior public servant in the Government of Manitoba and then as a federal MP, minister and senator. During his career, Mr. Duhamel did much to promote the cultural, educational, economic and political development of the Franco-Manitoban community. He also supported a number of minority Francophone community initiatives at the national level. Furthermore, Mr. Ronald Duhamel played a leading role in representing Francophone minority community interests to his colleagues, for the purpose of raising their awareness and ensuring that the necessary influence was exerted to bring about significant change and normalize the communities’ relationship with the various levels of government.

Award Criteria
The individuals or teams nominated must, in the context of their work, have demonstrated excellence and innovation in

  • planning and providing French-language services tailored to fit the needs of the Francophone community of Manitoba;
  • supporting the development of the Francophone community of Manitoba;
  • creating conditions conducive to greater use of French in the workplace.

Who may be nominated?
Any individual or team of individuals that works or has worked in Manitoba for a governmental or quasi-govermental body which is subject to Canada’s Official Languages Act or the Government of Manitoba’s French Language Services Policy or forms part of a member municipality of the AMBM. A group of individuals need not work or have worked for the same body in order to be nominated as a team.

Recently-retired employees are eligible to be nominated for accomplishments dating back no more than two years from the nomination deadline.

Who may submit a nomination?
Any member of Manitoba’s Francophone community or any individual eligible to be nominated under the criteria set out above.

Selection Committee
The selection committee will be anonymous and comprise four members each representing one of the following entities: the federal government, the provincial government, the Manitoba Association of Bilingual Municipalities (AMBM) and the Société franco-manitobaine.

Fiche d’information

Lancé officiellement en mars 2005, le Prix Ronald-Duhamel – Ronald Duhamel Award vise à reconnaître un(e) employé(e) ou un groupe d’employé(e)s œuvrant au sein du secteur public ou parapublic fédéral, provincial ou municipal et s’étant distingué(e) au service de la francophonie au Manitoba. Ce Prix, remis à tous les deux ans, est une initiative conjointe de la Société franco-manitobaine, du gouvernement fédéral, du Secrétariat provincial aux affaires francophones et de l’Association des municipalités bilingues du Manitoba (AMBM).

Le prix a été nommé en l’honneur de Ronald Duhamel pour souligner son importante contribution d’abord à titre de haut fonctionnaire au gouvernement du Manitoba et par la suite en tant que député, ministre et sénateur au gouvernement du Canada. Au cours de sa carrière, M. Duhamel a beaucoup fait pour le développement culturel, éducatif, économique et politique de la francophonie manitobaine. Il a également appuyé de nombreuses initiatives des communautés francophones en situation minoritaire à l’échelle nationale. De plus, M. Ronald Duhamel a joué un rôle de premier plan pour représenter les intérêts des communautés francophones minoritaires auprès de ses collègues, toujours dans le but de les sensibiliser et d’exercer l’influence nécessaire pour catalyser des changements de grande ampleur et pour normaliser les relations de ces communautés avec les divers ordres de gouvernement.

Critères d’attribution du prix
Dans le cadre de son travail, la personne ou le groupe mis en candidature aura fait preuve d’excellence et d’innovation dans un ou plusieurs des domaines suivants :

  • la planification et l’offre de services en français bien adaptés aux besoins de la communauté francophone du Manitoba;
  • l’appui à l’épanouissement et au développement de la communauté francophone du Manitoba;
  • la création de conditions propices à un emploi accru du français au sein du milieu de travail.

Qui peut être mis en candidature?
Toute personne ou tout groupe de personnes qui travaille ou qui a travaillé au Manitoba pour un organisme public ou parapublic visé par la Loi sur les langues officielles du Canada ou la Politique sur les services en langue française du gouvernement du Manitoba, ou encore se rattachant à une municipalité membre de l’AMBM. Dans le cas de la mise en candidature d’un groupe, il n’est pas nécessaire que les personnes le formant travaillent ou aient travaillé au service d’une même institution féderale ou d'une même instance administrative provinciale ou municipale.

La candidature de personnes récemment retraitées est admissible à l’égard de réalisations menées à terme dans les deux années précédant la date limite de soumission des candidatures.

Qui peut soumettre une candidature?
Tout membre de la communauté francophone du Manitoba ou toute personne admissible à être mise en candidature selon les critères énoncés ci-dessus.

Comité de sélection
Le comité sera anonyme et il sera formé de quatre personnes, chacune représentant l’une des instances suivantes : le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement provincial, l’Association des municipalités bilingues du Manitoba (AMBM) et la Société franco-manitobaine.